Small Accessible Repairs for Seniors (SARFS)

Last updated: April 29, 2022

The Small Accessible Repairs for Seniors (SARFS) program provides safety, security and accessibility improvements that help seniors remain in their homes. Repair services are limited to minor improvements that may include, but are not limited to:

  • Grab bars
  • Lever faucets
  • Door repairs
  • Carbon monoxide detectors
  • Smoke detectors
  • Wheelchair ramps

SARFS serves Chicago seniors at least 60 years of age who earn no more than 80 percent of the area medium income (AMI). Qualified recipients may be owners or renters residing in a one- to four-unit building (a renter must have permission from the landlord and the landlord needs to certify that he or she will not increase the rent as a direct result of SARFS improvements).

Delegate agencies, under contract with the Department of Housing (DOH) are available to assist seniors with the following:

  • Application process
  • Make on-site assessments to determine service needs
  • Provide limited home improvements at no cost to the applicant

Residents must provide proof of age, income, and ownership, or owner/agent approval at time of application.

 

Area Median Income Limits 2022

Family Size

80% Median Income*

1

$58,350

2

$66,700

3

$75,050

4

$83,350

5

$90,050

*Income limits are for the Chicago-Naperville-Joliet, IL HUD Metro FMR Area.

 

SARFS Delegate Agencies

SARFS agencies are authorized by DOH to provide enabling devices and limited home improvements at no cost to income-qualified seniors throughout Chicago.

For all initial inquiries, please call 312.744.3653. If you have already been contacted by a delegate agency for application intake, please call that agency directly for further assistance and updates.

Back of the Yards Neighborhood Council
1823 W. 47th St. 
Chicago, IL 60609

James Gonska 872.281.7832
jsgonska@bync.org

bync.org

Latin United Community Housing Association (LUCHA)
3541 W. North Ave. 
Chicago, IL 60647

Ana Velez 773.276.5338
avelez@lucha.org

lucha.org

Chinese American Service League, Inc.
2141 S. Tan Court 
Chicago, IL 60616

Bihua Huang 312.791.0418 ext. 2107
bihua_huang@caslservice.org

caslservice.org

North Branch Works/LEED Council
2545 W. Diversey Ave. 
Chicago, IL 60647

Misty LeBlanc 773.929.5552 ext. 235
misty@northbranchworks.org

northbranchworks.org

Bickerdike Redevelopment Corp.
2550 W. North Ave. 
Chicago, IL 60647

Dean Rennie 773.278.5669
Drennie@bickerdike.org

bickerdike.org

Near West Side Community Dev. Corp.
216 S. Hoyne Ave. 
Chicago, IL 60612

Eric Wright 312.738.2280
eric@nearwestsidecdc.org

nearwestsidecdc.org

Elevate Energy
322 S. Green St., Ste. 300
Chicago, IL 60607

Emily Robinson 773.269.4043
emily.robinson@elevateenergy.org

elevatenp.org

Neighborhood Housing Services
1279 N. Milwaukee Ave. 
Chicago, IL 60622

Gloria Moore 773.329.4123
gmoore@nhschicago.org

nhschicago.org

Greater Auburn Gresham Dev. Corp.
1159 W. 79th St. 
Chicago, IL 60620

Linda Johnson 773.483.3696
ljohnson@gagdc.org

gagdc.org

Northside Community Resources
1530 W. Morse Ave.
Chicago, IL 60626

Violeta Espinoza 773.338.7722 ext.21
violet@northsidecr.org

northsidecommunityresources.org

H.O.M.E.
1419 W. Carroll Ave.
Chicago, IL 60607

Michael Laz 773.921.3200
mikel@homeseniors.org

homeseniors.org

 

 

SARFS Ramp and Lift Program

The SARFS Ramp and Lift Program provides seniors with either ramps or, in cases where it's not possible to install a code-compliant ramp, vertical lifts. To add your name to the program's wait list, call 312.744.3653.


Ramp Installation Provider

UCP Seguin Foundation (Ramps Only) - Agency is not to get calls for ramps. Please contact DOH to be placed on waiting list for the Senior Ramp and Lift Program 

547 W. Jackson Blvd., Ste. 225 
Chicago, IL 60661

773.348.5570/708.444.8460 ext. 230
Gregory Gill
ggrill@ucpnet.org

Matina Travis
mtravis@ucpnet.org 

ucpnet.org 

Lift Installation Provider

Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities 
121 N. LaSalle St.
Chicago, IL 60602

312.743.5767 

Mopdhomemod@cityofchicago.org 

chicago.gov/mopd

 

 

 

 

Service Facts

Department:

I Want To