Mayor Emanuel And City Colleges Of Chicago Announce Three New Star Scholarship Transfer Partners

January 3, 2019

Chicago State University, Florida Memorial University and Stillman College join City Colleges’ growing list of transfer partners

Mayor's Press Office    312.744.3334

Mayor Emanuel and City Colleges of Chicago announced today that Chicago State University, Florida Memorial University and Stillman College have joined on to become Star Scholarship transfer partners. There are now 24 four-year colleges and universities giving Star Scholars additional scholarships towards completion of their bachelor’s degrees. 

“The Star Scholarship has helped thousands of hardworking Chicago students access a college education no matter their financial means or background,” said Mayor Emanuel. “I am thrilled that Chicago State, Florida Memorial and Stillman see the value of our Star Scholars, and have signed on to help them continue on to pursue a high-quality, affordable four-year degree so they can go on to achieve the successful futures they deserve.”

The new partnership agreements include:

  • Florida Memorial University will offer guaranteed admission to all Star Scholars providing they meet admission requirements, and will provide $8,000 in scholarships.
  • Stillman College will emphasize teacher education, and will offer 10 Star Scholars who are interested in pursuing a degree in the field of education a $4,000 annual scholarship and up to $500 per year for online courses.
  • Chicago State University will offer up to 25 Star graduates with at least a 3.0 transfer GPA a $2,000 scholarship.

"Stillman College is excited about our new relationship with the City Colleges of Chicago through the Star Scholarship!  We look forward to advancing CCC students' completion of degrees in business, education, humanities, and natural sciences; and enhancing success in their chosen careers and professions,” said Cynthia Warrick, PhD RPh, President, Stillman College.

“Chicago State University is pleased to be a Star Transfer Partner of City Colleges of Chicago," said CSU President Zaldwaynaka Scott, Esq. "We are committed to the development and support of initiatives that close gaps in college access and provide a pathway to economic empowerment for all driven and talented students.” 

To ensure more students can access a viable pathway to college, Mayor Emanuel created the Star Scholarship in Fall 2015 to provide CPS students with an opportunity to pursue a degree or certificate at City Colleges at no cost.  More than 6,000 students have been named Star Scholars since the program launched. Star Scholars have a retention rate of 86 percent, nearly double the average at City Colleges. Nearly 50 percent of first-time, full-time Star Scholars who started at City Colleges in 2015 graduated within three years.

“Star Scholars prove their dedication in high school and at City Colleges, and four-year universities have taken notice,” said Chancellor Juan Salgado.  “A growing network of four year colleges and universities are helping us offer City Colleges students a clear and affordable pathway to a bachelor’s degree.”

More than 675 Star Scholars have already transferred to more than 75 four-year colleges and universities. More than 500 of those students have gone on to attend one of the 24 Star Scholarship transfer partner schools, where they have earned more than $3.1 million in scholarships.

Students are eligible for the Chicago Star Scholarship if they have graduated from a Chicago Public Schools (CPS) high school with a 3.0 GPA and test nearly college-ready in math and English, and enroll in a city Colleges structured, relevant pathway.  

In addition to the three new partners, City Colleges has been working with the following universities and colleges to offer Star Scholars additional support once they move on to earn their bachelor's degree: University of Illinois at Chicago, Columbia College, DePaul University, Dominican University, Elmhurst University, Governors State University, Illinois Tech, Illinois State University, Kendall College, Loyola University, Marquette University, National Louis University, North Park University, Northeastern Illinois University, Northwestern University, Robert Morris University, Roosevelt University, Saint Xavier University, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, and University of Chicago.   CME Group, the Star program's first corporate partner has provided students with 50 $5,000 scholarships and connected CCC students with paid summer internships at elite trading firms.  

To learn more about the Star Scholarship, go to  

News Release Facts

I Want To