Chairman Scott Waguespack and 34 other members of the Chicago City Council comprise the Committee on Finance. The Committee has jurisdiction over tax levies, bonds, revenue orders, the financing of municipal services and capital developments, tax increment financing (TIF) expenditures, lawsuit settlements, and matters generally affecting the Department of Finance, the City Comptroller, and the City Treasurer.

Find a list of all the current members of the Committee on Finance at the Chicago City Clerk’s website

Public Comment

Information on submitting public comment during the meeting can be found on the Clerk’s website (https://www.chicityclerk.com/city-council-news-central/council-agenda#process

Written public comment is always welcome and can be submitted to the Committee at owen.brugh@cityofchicago.org, or 121 N. LaSalle St., Room 302, Chicago, IL 60602. Written comments must be received by 3 p.m. the business day before the meeting to be distributed to the Committee.

About Chairman Waguespack

Scott Waguespack is the Alderman of Chicago’s 32nd Ward. Since his election as Alderman in 2007, Ald. Waguespack has been a leading independent voice in the City Council, focusing his work in the Council on the issues of finances, public safety, transparency, and public education. Ald. Waguespack is a member of the Progressive Reform Caucus, serving as Chairman from 2015 to 2019.

Alderman Waguespack graduated from Colorado State University and Chicago-Kent College of Law. After college, he served in the U.S. Peace Corps in Kenya, where he built health clinics and water supplies, and provided training in primary health. He remains active with the Chicago Area Returned Peace Corps Association.

Ald. Waguespack has worked with the U.S. State Department, the American Bar Association, and various governments in the Balkans working to assist the War Crimes Tribunal in the former Yugoslavia, establishing a rule of law, and working on economic development. He served as an advisor to the President of Kosovo and the interim government after the end of the Kosovo War.

Ald. Waguespack serves as Chair of the City Council Committee on Finance, and the Plan Commission, in addition to serving on several other council committees.