
SETS MINIMUM WAGE IN CHICAGO (MCC 6-105)

MINIMUM WAGE

July 1, 2023 
Effective Date

Large Employers
21 or more employees

Small Employers
4 to 20 employees

Youth Workers
Tipped Workers

Large Small Youth

Min Wage $15.80 $15.00 $13.50 $9.48 $9.00 $8.10  

Overtime Min 
Wage

$23.70 $22.50 $20.25 $17.38 $16.50 $14.85

All Domestic Workers must receive at least the $15.80 minimum wage. 
If the tipped wage plus tips does not equal the minimum wage, the Employer must make up the difference.

Chicago.gov/LaborStandards

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES AND CONTACT INFORMATION

Additional guidance and resources are available at the above listed website. You can find FAQ (frequently asked question) forms, 
and applicable Promulgated Rules and Regulations for all Chicago Labor Laws. 

Address of OLS E-mail and Phone Number of OLS Webinar Recordings 

Office of Labor Standards
2350 West Ogden Avenue, 1st Floor
Chicago, Illinois 60608

You can reach the OLS at:
bacplaborstandards@cityofchicago.org
Or 312-744-2211

OLS routinely hosts educational webinars 
on Chicago’s Labor Laws, recordings of 
those webinars can be accessed at:
https://www.youtube.com/chicagobacp

FORBIDS THE THEFT OF WAGES AND BENEFITS (MCC 6-100)

WAGE THEFT

Wage Theft Violations and Fines

• Wage Theft means the non-payment of wages, including paid 
time off or other paid benefits

• Employers must pay Employees on time

• Employees can recoup unpaid wages plus damages
• Violators may be subject to fines or civil actions

WORKERS ARE PROTECTED UNDER CHICAGO AND ILLINOIS LAW

HUMAN TRAFFICKING

If you or someone you know is being forced to engage in any activity or forced to work, cannot leave, is having their wages taken, has had 
their passport or ID taken away, or is being threatened with deportation if they don’t work, 

Call the National Human Trafficking Hotline 1-888-373-7888 or Text “HELP” to 233733 to access free help and services. 
Available at all times in 160 languages and operated by a nongovernmental organization.

CHICAGO OFFICE OF LABOR STANDARDS

This Notice must be displayed in a conspicuous place at the place of employment and 
provided with each Covered Employee’s first paycheck. Retaliation is prohibited. 
Notice effective on January 1, 2024. Last updated December 1, 2023.

FILE A COMPLAINT
Call 311, use the CHI 311 app, or file a Complaint Form at Chicago.gov/LaborStandards. 

mailto:bacplaborstandards@cityofchicago.org
https://www.youtube.com/chicagobacp
http://www.chicago.gov/laborstandards
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ADDITIONAL RESOURCES AND CONTACT INFORMATION

Additional guidance and resources are available at the above listed website. You can find FAQ (frequently asked question) forms, 
and applicable Promulgated Rules and Regulations for all Chicago Labor Laws. 

Address of OLS E-mail and Phone Number of OLS Webinar Recordings 

Office of Labor Standards
2350 West Ogden Avenue, 1st Floor
Chicago, Illinois 60608

You can reach the OLS at:
bacplaborstandards@cityofchicago.org
Or 312-744-2211

OLS routinely hosts educational webinars 
on Chicago’s Labor Laws, recordings of 
those webinars can be accessed at 
YouTube.com/ChicagoBACP

FILE A COMPLAINT
Call 311, use the CHI 311 app, or file a Complaint Form at Chicago.gov/LaborStandards. 

CHICAGO OFFICE OF LABOR STANDARDS

REQUIRES PAID LEAVE TO BE USED FOR ANY REASON (MCC 6-130)

PAID LEAVE

Employers must provide Employees with Paid Leave (PL) to use for any reason of an Employee’s choosing if they work at least 80 
hours within any 120-day period.

Earning Leave Using Leave Carrying Over 

1 hour of PL for every 35 hours worked (up 
to 40 hours in a 12- month period) may be 
accrued.

Up to 40 hours first year (up to 56 hours 
during the second 12-month period) may 
be used. 

Up to 16  PL hours can be carried over 
between 12-month periods (if PL is not 
frontloaded).

REQUIRES PAID LEAVE FOR MEDICAL OR SAFETY REASONS (MCC 6-130)

PAID SICK AND SAFE LEAVE

Employers must provide Employees with Paid Sick Leave (PSL) to care for themselves or a family member if they work at least 80 
hours within any 120-day period.

Earning Leave Using Leave Carrying Over 

1 hour of PSL for every 35 hours worked 
(up to 40 hours in a 12- month period) may 
be accrued.

Up to 40 hours first year (up to 120 hours 
during subsequent periods depending on 
carryover/availability) may be used. 

Up to 80 PSL hours can be carried over 
between 12 month period

EMPLOYERS MUST PROVIDE PAID TIME OFF POLICIES (MCC 6-130)

EMPLOYER POLICIES

Policies Payout of PL upon employment termination

• Establishment of Paid Time Off Policies, Employer must share Paid 
Time Off policies with Employees; Paid Leave can be reasonably 
denied; minimum usage increments cannot exceed 4 hours for PL and 
2 hours for PSL

• Small Employers (1-50 employees) are exempt
• Medium Employers (51-100 employees) must pay out up to 16 hours 

of PL until 12.31.2024; up to 56 hours after that date
• Large Employers (101+ employees) must pay out up to 56 hours

mailto:bacplaborstandards@cityofchicago.org
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