# City of Chicago MINUTES OF NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING

# **Meeting Information**

Regular Meeting Saturday, August 19, 2023, 9:00 AM Malcolm X College, Room 1103 1900 W. Jackson Blvd, Chicago, IL 60612

## 1. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 AM.

# 2. Roll call & quorum determination

Jamie Brown, DC001	Present	Michelle Page, DC012	Present
Ephraim Lee, DC002	Present	Ashley Vargas, DC014	Present
Anthony Bryant, DC003	Present	Karen Arewa Winters, DC015	Present
Gloria Jenkins, DC004	Present	Colleen Dillon, DC016	Present
Tom McMahon, DC005	Present	Beth Rochford, DC017	Present
Aisha Humphries, DC006	Present	Robert Johnson, DC018	Present
Dion McGill, DC007	Present	Sam Schoenburg, DC019	Present
Al Cacciottolo, DC008	Present	Darrell Dacres, DC020	Present
Denise McBroom, DC009	Present	Lee Bielecki, DC022	Present
Elianne Bahena, DC010	Present	Marilyn Págan-Banks, DC024	Present, Remote
Jocelyn Woodards, DC011	Absent	Angelica Green, DC025	Present

The Nominating Committee had a quorum at the meeting.

## 3. Public comment

The Nominating Committee held public comment and had no speakers.

# 4. Setting meeting norms

The Committee established a set of norms to guide the members through the meeting.

#### 5. Proposed rules of order

The Committee reviewed a proposal for rules of order to guide Committee deliberations. The proposal outlines that for each voting item, the Committee will hold an open session to brainstorm, explore issues, improve understanding, and seek consensus. If no consensus is reached, the Committee will hold a motions session to efficiently settle an issue with motions and votes, at which point the Committee has a 2/3 threshold pursuant to its bylaws. During motions session, Committee members can make any number of motions for consideration, and each person will have one opportunity to speak before the Committee proceeds to a vote on all motions on the table.

### 6. Posting date for the Request for Commissioner Applications

The Committee reviewed the requirements under the CCPSA Ordinance for the posting of the application, the application period, the review period, and the period of Mayoral consideration. The Committee discussed several options for when to post the application.

After holding an open session, the Committee was unable to reach a consensus. The Committee then held its motion session. Committee Member Schoenburg moved for posting the application on January 8, 2024. Committee Member Lee moved for positing the application on January 22, 2024. The Committee proceeded to a vote.

Motion A: January 8, 2024; Motion B: January 22, 2024

Jamie Brown, DC001	A	Michelle Page, DC012	В
Ephraim Lee, DC002	В	Ashley Vargas, DC014	A
Anthony Bryant, DC003	A	Karen Arewa Winters, DC015	A
Gloria Jenkins, DC004	A	Colleen Dillon, DC016	A
Tom McMahon, DC005	A	Beth Rochford, DC017	A
Aisha Humphries, DC006	A	Robert Johnson, DC018	A
Dion McGill, DC007	В	Sam Schoenburg, DC019	A
Al Cacciottolo, DC008	A	Darrell Dacres, DC020	N/A
Denise McBroom, DC009	A	Lee Bielecki, DC022	A
Elianne Bahena, DC010	A	Marilyn Págan-Banks, DC024	A
Jocelyn Woodards, DC011	N/A	Angelica Green, DC025	A

20 votes cast. A - 17; B - 3. Motion A carries.

#### 7. Due dates for rubric and interview questions

The Committee discussed a tentative schedule of due dates for completing preparatory work for the nominations process. The Committee set October 15 for completing a rubric and November 30 for completing a set of interview questions.

# 8. 2023 Committee public meeting schedule

The Committee discussed dates for the remaining Committee public meetings in 2023. The Committee found consensus on having meetings approximately every 6 weeks.

A motion was made to schedule its regular public meetings on September 30 and November 18, and that the Committee would consider holding a special public meeting in December at a later date.

Jamie Brown, DC001	Yes	Michelle Page, DC012	Yes
Ephraim Lee, DC002	Yes	Ashley Vargas, DC014	Yes
Anthony Bryant, DC003	Yes	Karen Arewa Winters, DC015	Yes
Gloria Jenkins, DC004	Yes	Colleen Dillon, DC016	Yes
Tom McMahon, DC005	Yes	Beth Rochford, DC017	Yes
Aisha Humphries, DC006	Yes	Robert Johnson, DC018	Yes
Dion McGill, DC007	Yes	Sam Schoenburg, DC019	Yes
Al Cacciottolo, DC008	Yes	Darrell Dacres, DC020	N/A
Denise McBroom, DC009	Yes	Lee Bielecki, DC022	Yes
Elianne Bahena, DC010	Yes	Marilyn Págan-Banks, DC024	Yes
Jocelyn Woodards, DC011	N/A	Angelica Green, DC025	Yes

19 votes cast. Yes -19; No -0. Motion carries.

# 9. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 AM.