City of Chicago MINUTES OF NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING

Meeting Information

Regular Meeting Saturday, July 8, 2023, 10:00 AM Garfield Park Golden Dome Field House 100 N. Central Park Ave, Chicago, IL 60624

1. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 AM.

2. Roll call & quorum determination

	_		
Jamie Brown, DC001	Present	Michelle Page, DC012	Present
Ephraim Lee, DC002	Present	Ashley Vargas, DC014	Present
Anthony Bryant, DC003	Present	Karen Arewa Winters, DC015	Present
Gloria Jenkins, DC004	Present	Colleen Dillon, DC016	Present
Tom McMahon, DC005	Present	Beth Rochford, DC017	Present
Aisha Humphries, DC006	Present	Robert Johnson, DC018	Present
Dion McGill, DC007	Present	Sam Schoenburg, DC019	Present
Al Cacciottolo, DC008	Present	Darrel Dacres, DC020	Present
Denise McBroom, DC009	Present	Lee Bielecki, DC022	Present
Elianne Bahena, DC010	Present	Marilyn Págan-Banks, DC024	Present, Remote
Jocelyn Woodards, DC011	Present	Angelica Green, DC025	Present

The Nominating Committee had a quorum at the meeting.

3. Public comment

The Nominating Committee held public comment and had one speaker.

4. Introduction and purpose of the Committee

The Committee discussed its establishment and responsibilities. The Committee also identified group norms for members to follow during the meeting. The Committee decided that when faced with decisions, the members would first strive for a consensus, but if they do not reach a consensus, they would use a 2/3 threshold of present members to carry a motion. This voting threshold would not apply to nomination votes, which by Ordinance require a 15-member threshold.

5. Working group structure

The Committee discussed the value of working in between public meetings. The Committee agreed by consensus to form working groups to manage the Committee's work in between public meetings. The Committee then considered three different approaches for how to divide the Committee into groups:

- 1. Based on randomization: randomly place members into four groups.
- 2. Based on geographic proximity: divide members into four regional groups.
- 3. Based on geographic diversity: design four geographically diverse groups.

The Committee discussed the merits of each option. Several polls were taken to assess the support for each option. The Committee then proceeded to a vote.

Committee Member Brown motioned to create four working groups based on geographic proximity. Committee Member Bielecki seconded the motion.

Jamie Brown, DC001	Yes	Michelle Page, DC012	No
Ephraim Lee, DC002	Yes	Ashley Vargas, DC014	Yes
Anthony Bryant, DC003	Yes	Karen Arewa Winters, DC015	No
Gloria Jenkins, DC004	Not cast	Colleen Dillon, DC016	Yes
Tom McMahon, DC005	Yes	Beth Rochford, DC017	Yes
Aisha Humphries, DC006	Yes	Robert Johnson, DC018	Yes
Dion McGill, DC007	Yes	Sam Schoenburg, DC019	Yes
Al Cacciottolo, DC008	Yes	Darrel Dacres, DC020	Yes
Denise McBroom, DC009	Yes	Lee Bielecki, DC022	Yes
Elianne Bahena, DC010	Yes	Marilyn Págan-Banks, DC024	Yes
Jocelyn Woodards, DC011	Yes	Angelica Green, DC025	Yes

21 votes cast. Yes - 19; No - 2. Motion carries.

The Committee discussed how to divide the Committee geographically and reached the following decision:

Southeast: Brown (1), Lee (2), Bryant (3), Jenkins (4), McMahon (5), Humphries (6)

Southwest: McGill (7), Cacciottolo (8), McBroom (9), Bahena (10), Page (12), Bielecki (22)

Northwest: Woodards (11), Vargas (14), Winters (15), Dillon (16), Rochford (17), Green (25)

Northeast: Johnson (18), Schoenburg (19), Dacres (20), Págan-Banks (24)

6. Authorization of closed sessions

The Committee reviewed the rules for holding closed meetings for the purpose of nominating people for positions on the Commission in compliance with Section 2(c)(3) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act.

Committee Member Woodards motioned to authorize a series of closed meetings over the course of not more than three months only for purposes cited under the exemption in Section 2(c)(3) of the OMA. Committee Member Cacciottolo seconded the motion.

Jamie Brown, DC001	Yes	Michelle Page, DC012	Yes
Ephraim Lee, DC002	Yes	Ashley Vargas, DC014	Yes
Anthony Bryant, DC003	Yes	Karen Arewa Winters, DC015	Yes
Gloria Jenkins, DC004	Yes	Colleen Dillon, DC016	Yes
Tom McMahon, DC005	Yes	Beth Rochford, DC017	Yes
Aisha Humphries, DC006	Yes	Robert Johnson, DC018	Yes
Dion McGill, DC007	Yes	Sam Schoenburg, DC019	Yes
Al Cacciottolo, DC008	Yes	Darrel Dacres, DC020	Yes
Denise McBroom, DC009	Yes	Lee Bielecki, DC022	Yes
Elianne Bahena, DC010	Yes	Marilyn Págan-Banks, DC024	Not cast
Jocelyn Woodards, DC011	Yes	Angelica Green, DC025	Yes

21 votes cast. Yes -21; No -0. Motion carries.

7. Adoption of bylaws

The Committee reviewed a proposed set of bylaws for the Committee.

Committee Member Bielecki motioned to adopt the bylaws. Committee Member Brown seconded.

Jamie Brown, DC001	Yes	Michelle Page, DC012	Yes
Ephraim Lee, DC002	Yes	Ashley Vargas, DC014	Yes
Anthony Bryant, DC003	Yes	Karen Arewa Winters, DC015	Yes
Gloria Jenkins, DC004	Yes	Colleen Dillon, DC016	Yes
Tom McMahon, DC005	Yes	Beth Rochford, DC017	Yes
Aisha Humphries, DC006	Yes	Robert Johnson, DC018	Yes
Dion McGill, DC007	Yes	Sam Schoenburg, DC019	Yes
Al Cacciottolo, DC008	Yes	Darrel Dacres, DC020	Yes
Denise McBroom, DC009	Yes	Lee Bielecki, DC022	Yes
Elianne Bahena, DC010	Yes	Marilyn Págan-Banks, DC024	Not cast
Jocelyn Woodards, DC011	Yes	Angelica Green, DC025	Yes

21 votes cast. Yes -21; No -0. Motion carries.

8. Adoption of Commissioner application

The Committee reviewed a draft Commissioner application form. Members suggested and made minor changes to the proposed draft.

Committee Member Bielecki motioned to adopt the modified application draft. Committee Member Page seconded the motion.

Jamie Brown, DC001	Yes	Michelle Page, DC012	Yes
Ephraim Lee, DC002	Yes	Ashley Vargas, DC014	Yes
Anthony Bryant, DC003	Yes	Karen Arewa Winters, DC015	Yes
Gloria Jenkins, DC004	Yes	Colleen Dillon, DC016	Yes
Tom McMahon, DC005	Yes	Beth Rochford, DC017	Yes
Aisha Humphries, DC006	Yes	Robert Johnson, DC018	Yes
Dion McGill, DC007	Yes	Sam Schoenburg, DC019	Yes
Al Cacciottolo, DC008	Not cast	Darrel Dacres, DC020	Yes
Denise McBroom, DC009	Yes	Lee Bielecki, DC022	Yes
Elianne Bahena, DC010	Yes	Marilyn Págan-Banks, DC024	Not cast
Jocelyn Woodards, DC011	Yes	Angelica Green, DC025	Yes

20 votes cast. Yes -20; No -0. Motion carries.

The Committee decided to postpone making a decision on when to post the application.

9. Scheduling the next meeting

The Committee discussed holding its public meetings either monthly, every 6 weeks, or every other month. The Committee did not come to an agreement.

Committee Member Jenkins motioned to schedule the next public meeting of the Nominating Committee on August 19, 2023. Committee Member Lee seconded the motion.

Jamie Brown, DC001	No	Michelle Page, DC012	Not cast
Ephraim Lee, DC002	Yes	Ashley Vargas, DC014	Yes
Anthony Bryant, DC003	Abstain	Karen Arewa Winters, DC015	Yes
Gloria Jenkins, DC004	Yes	Colleen Dillon, DC016	Yes
Tom McMahon, DC005	Yes	Beth Rochford, DC017	Yes
Aisha Humphries, DC006	Yes	Robert Johnson, DC018	Yes
Dion McGill, DC007	Yes	Sam Schoenburg, DC019	Yes
Al Cacciottolo, DC008	Not cast	Darrel Dacres, DC020	Yes
Denise McBroom, DC009	Yes	Lee Bielecki, DC022	Yes
Elianne Bahena, DC010	No	Marilyn Págan-Banks, DC024	Not cast
Jocelyn Woodards, DC011	No	Angelica Green, DC025	Yes

19 votes cast. Yes – 15; No – 1; Abstentions – 1. Motion carries.

10. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 1:00 PM.