
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Resident Information For Drivers 

Q: - How soon must I obtain a city sticker?  

A: - You must purchase and display a city vehicle sticker within 30 days of 
becoming a resident of Chicago.  Vehicles that do not display a current city 
sticker are subject to a $120.00 ticket. City stickers may be purchased from the 
Office of the City Clerk. Please click here for more information from the Office of 
the City Clerk’s Website. 

Q: - What are the requirements for license plates in Illinois? 

A: - State law requires license plates in Illinois be affixed to both the front and 
rear of passenger vehicles. Other types of vehicles can be subject to this 
requirement as well.  The Illinois Secretary of State requires purchase of annual 
license plate renewal stickers that must be affixed to the rear license plate as 
proof of current registration. Vehicles that do not display current license plate 
registration stickers are subject to a $50.00 ticket.  Please click here for more 
information from the Illinois Secretary of State’s Website. 

Q: - What is a residential parking permit? 

A: - Some Chicago neighborhoods are zoned for residential parking.  Residential 
parking zones limit parking to residents and their guests during specified hours. 
This program helps to promote on-street parking for residents of densely 
populated areas. Residents must purchase and display a residential parking 
permit for each vehicle that may be parked on the street in a residential zone.  
Temporary permits are available for purchase by residents who can then 
distribute them to guests and visitors. Vehicles failing to display the proper 
residential zone permit are subject to a $60.00 ticket.  Please click here for more 
information from the Office of the City Clerk’s Website. 

Q: - Are their special requirements for pick up trucks and vans? 

A: - Your truck or van may be required to display a special permit to park on the 
street in wards allowing truck and van parking.  Trucks and vans that fail to 
display the proper permit are subject to a $120.00 ticket.  There are wards that 
do not allow truck or van parking at all.  Please click here for more information 
from the Office of the City Clerk’s Website. 
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