Chicago Redistricting Information

The Census, taken every ten years, aims to get an updated count of area residents. By December 1st in the year after the Census, the Chicago City Council’s ward boundaries must be re-drawn through a process called Redistricting to reflect the population demonstrated in the Census. The City is divided into 50 wards, which must be compact, contiguous, and of substantially equal population with an acceptable deviation to respect established communities of interest, among other legal considerations.

The Chicago City Council approved a new ward map on May 16, 2022 as Ordinance  O2022-1318. To view the city’s new ward map, please click the link below: