Residential Recycling


Residential Recycling (single-family homes and multi-unit buildings with four or fewer units)


Garbage pickup is not scheduled for the following days in 2023:

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday

Monday, January 16, 2023

Pulaski Day

Monday, March 6, 2023

Memorial Day

Monday, May 29, 2023

Juneteenth Day

Monday, June 19, 2023

Independence Day

Tuesday, July 4, 2023

Labor Day

Monday, September 4, 2023

Columbus Day

Monday, October 9, 2023

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 23, 2023

Christmas Day 

Monday, December 25, 2023

Use the City’s Residential Recycling Drop-off Centers to recycle the same full range of materials accepted in the Blue Cart Recycling Program, including paper, plastics, glass and cardboard.  Toss all your recyclables in together; no sorting or special bags are required. You may use a bag to transport your materials to the drop-off center; however, it will be pulled at the recycling facility as plastic bags are not accepted in the program.

Drop-Off Center



1. Far North Side 6441 N. Ravenswood
2. Near South 1758 S. Clark Street


Blue Cart & Recycling Drop-Off Center:  Accepted Materials

Recycling Map 

Day-of-Service Schedule can be found here.

  • View the Blue Cart Residential Recycling Map to identify your residence's pick-up zone, hauler and schedule.
  • Zone 1 - Serviced by LRS
  • Zone 2 - Serviced by City of Chicago Department of Streets and Sanitation
  • Zone 3 - Serviced by LRS
  • Zone 4 - Serviced by City of Chicago Department of Streets and Sanitation
  • Zone 5- Serviced by LRS
  • Zone 6 - Serviced by LRS

Residential Recycling (multi-unit buildings with five or more units are required to have a separate recycling service)