September 10, 2014

Landmark District Approved on Northwestern University's Chicago Campus


A portion of Northwestern University's Chicago campus was approved as an official City of Chicago Landmark district today by City Council.

The Northwestern University Chicago Campus District will include three iconic buildings:the Montgomery Ward Building, Wieboldt Hall and Levy Mayer Hall/Gary Law Library.

Designed by architect James Gamble Rogers and completed in 1926 to house all of the university’s professional schools in one location, the Gothic-Revival-style structures are located on Chicago Avenue between Lake Shore Drive and Fairbanks Court. Clad in gray limestone, they share a variety of Gothic ornamentations, including arches, foliate ornament, buttresses, finials and towers. They are connected by arcade walls and separated by landscaped courtyards.

The buildings reflect Northwestern University’s importance to the history of Chicago and represent significant examples of work by a nationally-prominent architect, according to the Commission on Chicago Landmarks, which formally recommended the designation to City Council on June 5, 2014.


# # #




 News Release Facts

 I Want To