Chicago Urban Forestry Advisory Board

The Chicago Urban Forestry Advisory Board (CUFAB) is tasked with investigating and offering recommendations on tree-related issues in alignment with the City's Our Roots Chicago Initiative. 

Board members were selected based on recommendations from the Bureau of Forestry, CDOT, CDPH, and the Mayor’s Office, along with feedback from participants in the Tree Equity Working Group. The appointees are well-respected technical and community tree experts known for their work throughout Chicago. Board members will serve in staggered four-year terms, with half of the initial board serving two-year terms. 

The following individuals currently serve on the CUFAB:

  • Malcolm Whiteside, Jr., Deputy Commissioner Bureau of Forestry, President
  • Jessica Vogt, Vice President
  • Angela Tovar, Chief Sustainability Officer/Commissioner Department of Environment
  • Cindy Schwab, Secretary
  • Daniella Pereira, Board Member
  • Jim Semelka, Board Member
  • Nuri Madina, Board Member
  • Rolando Favela, Board Member 
  • Tom Carney, Commissioner, Department of Transportation
  • Randy Conner, Jr.,Commissioner, Department of Water Management
  • Ciere Boatright, Commissioner Department of Planning and Development
  • Rosa Escareño, General Superintendent and CEO, Chicago Park District 
  • Alderman Maria E. Hadden, Chair, Environment Committee, City of Chicago

Meetings are held at 2 N. LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60602. Register to attend at the following link:


2024 Meetings

2023 Meetings

Service Facts