Our Structure

The Chicago Department of Water Management is an infrastructure department that operates under the direction of a Commissioner. Appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Chicago City Council, the Commissioner is answerable to the Mayor and City Council for the operations of the Department of Water Management.

The primary function of the Department of Water Management is the purification and transmission of potable water to the homes and business of Chicago, and 126 suburban communities. The Department of Water Management is also responsible for the transmission of the effluent from the homes and business of Chicago, to the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago for treatment.

Potable water standards are strictly adhered to as set forth in the “Safe Drinking Water Act”. The standards are enforced by the Federal Environmental Protection Agency, the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, and the Illinois Department of Natural Resources. 

Providing support to the Commissioner in order of rank is the First Deputy Commissioner, two Managing Deputy Commissioners, and five Deputy Commissioners. Each Deputy Commissioner is charged with overseeing a Bureau, and the Divisions that comprise that Bureau.

The Department of Water Management as of January 1, 2013, employs 2,104 full-time personnel, and has an annual operating budget in of 913.1-million dollars.

Administrative Offices are located at the DePaul Center at: 333 S. State Street, Room 410, Chicago, Illinois 60604, and the James W. Jardine Water Purification Plant at: 1000 E. Ohio Street, Chicago, Illinois 60611. Admittance to both locations is by appointment only.


Water Management Organizational Chart

Department Facts


I Want To