Landmarks Commission Presents 2013 Preservation Excellence Awards

May 1, 2013


The Commission on Chicago Landmarks today presented its Preservation Excellence Awards, recognizing 14 projects, individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the preservation of the City’s historic buildings and places.

“We are proud of the outstanding contributions and investments made by each of these winners,” Housing and Economic Development Commissioner Andrew J. Mooney said.  “They represent a remarkable example of the dedication to restoring and revitalizing Chicago’s historic buildings and communities.”

Held for the 14th time, the event took place at DuSable High School, 4934 S. Wabash Ave., which was designated as a City of Chicago Landmark in October 2012.

The awards recognize extraordinary improvements to designated Chicago landmarks, properties within landmark districts and other projects that embody Chicago’s architectural heritage.  Each project was chosen by the Commission’s Permit Review Committee.

The nine-member Commission on Chicago Landmarks recommends buildings and districts for landmark protection and approval by the City Council.  Staffed by the Department of Housing and Economic Development, it also works with homeowners, businesses, organizations and developers to promote the preservation and maintenance of historic properties

For more information about the individual recipients, see the attachments below.

Holden Block

2800 N. Milwaukee Ave.

Monroe Building

Wood-Block Alley

2051 W. Evergreen St.

1601 N. Milwaukee Ave.

Carson Pirie Scott & Co. Building

Steuben Club Building

4811 S. Kimbark Ave.

3756 N. Harding Ave.

City of Chicago: Code Enforcement Team

934 N. Hoyne Ave.

1925 S. Michigan Ave.

John Baird Award

News Release Facts