Landmarks Commission announces 2023 Preservation Excellence Award winners

November 2, 2023

The 24th annual Preservation Excellence Awards ceremony was held today by the Commission on Chicago Landmarks to honor seven outstanding 2023 projects that preserve and contribute to the city's architectural and historic legacy.

Selected by the commission’s Permit Review Committee, the awardees include a variety of individual landmarks and landmark district projects that showcase the best in preservation work across the city.

Six rehabilitation awardees include:

  • John Nuveen House, 3916 N. Tripp Ave.
  • Private home, 3728 N. Springfield Ave.
  • Former Pullman Club building, 605 E. 111th St.
  • John Wingert House, 6231 N. Canfield Ave.
  • Fulton Market Streetscape, 820-1200 W. Fulton Market
  • K.A.M. Isaiah Israel Temple, 1100 E. Hyde Park Blvd.

One new construction award was presented to:

  • Private home, 2107 N. Cleveland Ave.

For details and images for each awardee, please visit the 2023 Preservation Excellence Award page.

The Commission on Chicago Landmarks recommends buildings and districts for landmark protection to City Council. It also works with homeowners, businesses, organizations and developers to promote the preservation and maintenance of historic properties.

The Commission has given Preservation Excellence Awards every year since 1998.

News Release Facts