Our Structure


The Board’s members and its Executive Director are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council.  Board members serve staggered 4 year terms without pay and  can be removed only for cause, with the written approval of remaining Board members.  The Board meets monthly and is staffed by eight full-time employees, including its Executive Director. 


The Board currently has a full complement of 7 members.


William F. Conlon  (2021) Chair

Appointed to the Board and named by Mayor Emanuel as Chair in October 2016, Mr. Conlon is a retired partner in the Chicago office of the law firm Sidley Austin LLP.  Prior to joining the firm, Bill was an Assistant United States Attorney in Chicago, and was involved in criminal investigations and prosecutions and the trial and appeal of a wide variety of civil cases.  He also served as Chief of the Civil Division of the United States Attorney's Office, and as the Chair of the Illinois Judicial Inquiry Board from 1992-1997, as a member and Chair of the Illinois State Board of Ethics from 1982-1988, and as a member of the Chicago Police Board from 2011-2016.


Zaid Abdul-Aleem (2022)

Appointed to the Board in 2015, Zaid Abdul-Aleem is a Managing Director at the international finance firm Moelis & Co., and has worked in international finance since 1996.  He earned his B.A. and M.A. (in history) from Duke University, and graduated from the Next Generation Executive Program for the Harvard Business School.


Nancy C. Andrade (2021)

Appointed to the Board in July 2016, Ms. Andrade, an attorney, is the Lead Counsel for the Commission on Hispanic Legal Rights and Responsibilities for the American Bar Association in Chicago.  She received her B.A. from Loyola University in Chicago and her J.D. from the Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law in 1993.


Stephanie Cox-Batson, M.D.  (2019) 

Appointed to the Board in May 2018, Dr. Cox-Batson is the Chief Medical Officer for the Near North Health Service Corporation, and an attending physician in the OB/GYN Unit at Northwestern University Prentice Hospital.  She is a graduate of Northwestern University and received her M.A. degree (in Neurophysiology) and M.D. degree from Washington University in St. Louis in 1994.


David Daskal (2020)

Appointed to the Board in October 2017, Mr. Daskal, a graduate of Yale University and New York University School of Law, has worked with Jellyvision, a software firm, since 2010.  Prior to that, he served as Director of Correspondence in the Office of Former Mayor Richard M. Daley, as the Circulation Manager for Northwestern University’s Pritzker School of Law’s Library, and practiced both as a criminal defense attorney for the Legal Aid Society of Brooklyn, NY, and as a commercial litigator in private practice in Chicago.


Dr. Daisy Lezama  (2022)

Assistant Director, National Youth Advocate Program

Appointed to the Board in 2012, Daisy Lezama was born in Honduras and immigrated to the United States and earned an undergraduate degree in education, a master’s degree in educational leadership and a doctoral degree in ministry.  Daisy currently works at the National Youth Advocate Program (NYAP) as an Assistant Director.  Previously, she served as the Director of Youth and Family Development Programs at Aspira, Inc. of Illinois, and at the Community and Economic Development Association (CEDA) of Cook County as Interim Director of Policy Implementation for Head Start. Previous to that, Dr. Lezama worked at City Colleges of Chicago and at the Chicago Department of Children and Youth Services, and also serves as one of the founding board members for the Chicago Pre-College and Engineering Program.


Barbara A. McDonald (2020)

The Honorable Barbara  McDonald served as a Circuit Judge of the Cook County Circuit Court from December 1996 through July 2012.  Prior to that, she was Chief Assistant Corporation Counsel in the Torts Division of the City’s Department of Law. She began her legal career as an associate at the Chicago firm of Lord Bissell and Brook, from 1980-1989.  She received her B.A. from the University of Dayton and her law degree from the University of Notre Dame Law School.






 Department Facts


 I Want To