July 17, 2011

Mayor Emanuel and Superintendent Garry McCarthy Announce the Deployment of Additional Police Officers to Communities Across Chicago

Additional redeployments from administrative positions continue as part of an ongoing effort to improve safety in Chicago’s neighborhoods.

Mayor's Press Office    312.744.3334

Mayor Rahm Emanuel and Chicago Police Department (CPD) Superintendent Garry McCarthy today announced the deployment of an additional 92 police officers to the beat, enhancing police officers’ capacity to protect Chicago’s streets and build strong relationships with community members in the neighborhoods they serve.  Of these officers, 53 are graduated recruits from the Chicago Police Academy.

“Successful policing begins with the beat officers who earn the trust of the communities they serve, shift by shift and patrol by patrol,” said Mayor Emanuel. “These police recruits have made that commitment to our residents, and are ready to join officers in Chicago's neighborhoods to help make every community a safe place to work, play, learn and build a life.”

Starting July 21st, 53 Probationary Police Officers, who graduated from the Police Academy last spring, will be deployed to districts 4, 6, 8, 10, 15 and 24.

In addition to the Probationary Police Officers, CPD will redeploy officers from administrative positions throughout the department. These officers, which includes five Sergeants, will begin July 21st in districts 1,3,4,5,6,7,9,10,15,18,22,23 and 24.

This is the third group of CPD officers to be redeployed to communities since Mayor Emanuel took office in May.  On May 24th, Mayor Emanuel announced that 500 police officers would be redeployed to the beat. Those officers came primarily from the Department’s Mobile Strike Force and Targeted Response Unit, and were sent to districts 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, and 15.  On June 12th, the Mayor announced the redeployment of an additional 150 officers his time from administrative positions across every bureau of the department. The officers were sent to districts 2, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, and 25.