November 21, 2014

Mayor Emanuel Congratulates The Football Teams Of Wendell Phillips Academy And Simeon Career Academy For Reaching The IHSA’s Final Four

The First Time Ever Two Chicago Public League Football Squads Reach the State's Final Four In The Same Season

Mayor's Press Office    312.744.3334

As Wendell Phillips Academy and Simeon Career Academy reach the IHSA state semifinals in football, Mayor Emanuel called the coaches of both teams to congratulate them on their success and asks for Chicagoans to join in on rooting for both teams as they continue their quests for a state championship at Gatley Stadium this Saturday.

“The entire city of Chicago stands behind both the Wendell Phillips Wildcats and the Simeon Wolverines as they make history at Gatley Stadium this Saturday. Everyone in Chicago has watched with awe and admiration as these two teams have defied all odds and obstacles to become the first two Chicago Public League teams to play in the state semifinals in the same season,” said Mayor Emanuel. “While they may wear different uniforms on the field, this weekend they wear the same jersey of Team Chicago because they have the support of us all. The dedication and determination that has advanced them this far has earned both teams their rightful place in history as well as in our hearts.”

After advancing past defending state champion Naperville Central last weekend, the Simeon Wolverines will play Homewood-Flossmoor at 7:15 p.m. at Gately Stadium in an IHSA Class 8A semifinal.

The Wendell Phillips Wildcats advanced to the IHSA Class 4A state semifinals for the first time ever after beating Rockford Lutheran last weekend. Phillips Academy now faces Coal City at 3:45 p.m. Saturday at Gately Stadium, with the winner qualifying for the Nov. 28 state championship game at Memorial Stadium in Champaign.

Neither school has ever played in the Final Four, and they are the seventh and eighth Chicago Public League teams to make it this far in the IHSA state championships. The other Chicago Public League state semifinalists are Lane Tech in 1980; Tilden in 1983; Hubbard in 2000; and Morgan Park in 2004.