July 7, 2015

Mayor Rahm Emanuel Announces Appointments to City of Chicago Boards and Commissions

Mayor's Press Office    312.744.3334

Mayor Rahm Emanuel today announced a number of appointments to boards and commissions which play a vital role in city government on a wide-range of issues. The following appointees represent the City of Chicago’s diverse communities and astute business leaders.

“Throughout their careers, these individuals have been dedicated to serving the residents and communities of the City of Chicago,” said Mayor Emanuel. “In order to provide Chicago’s residents with the highest quality and most effective services, we need committed individuals helping us to preserve our history while planning for our future. Through their leadership and hard work, I'm confident these appointees will help us to achieve those goals."

Nominated as a Member of the Police Board
John Simpson, Partner, Broadhaven Capital Partners
Claudia Valenzuela, Associate Director of Litigation, Heartland Alliance National Immigrant Justice Center
William Conlon, Partner, Sidley Austin LLP (re-appointment)

Nominated as a Member of the Chicago Plan Commission
Laura Flores, Lead Project Architect, Epstein
Sarah Lyons, Research Analyst, UNITE HERE, formerly Metropolitan Board of Zoning Appeals Board Member (Indianapolis)
Doris Holleb, Professorial Lecturer, University of Chicago (re-appointment)

Nominated as a Member of the Zoning Board of Appeals
Blake Sercye, Associate (litigation), Jenner & Block
Sol Flores, Executive Director, La Casa Norte (re-appointment)
Jonathan Swain (Chair), President, Kimbark Beverage Shoppe (re-appointment)

Nominated as a Member of the Commission on Chicago Landmarks
Gabriel Ignacio Dziekiewicz, President and Principal of Design, DesignBridge
Juan Moreno, President and Founder, JGMA (Juan Gabriel Moreno Architects)
Carmen Rossi, Commercial Lawyer and Restaurateur
James Houlihan, Senior Advisor/President, Houlihan Consulting (re-appointment)
Rafael Leon (chair), Executive Director, Chicago Metropolitan Housing Development Corporation (re-appointment)
Mary Ann Smith, formerly, City of Chicago Alderman, 48th Ward (re-appointment)
Rev. Dr. Richard Tolliver, Rector, St Edmund's Episcopal Church (re-appointment)
Ernest Wong, Founder and Principal, Site Design Group, Ltd (re-appointment)

Nominated as a Member of the Community Development Commission
Gwendolyn Butler, Vice Chairwoman and Chief Marketing Officer, Capri Investment Group, LLC
Cornelius Griggs, Managing Partner, GMA of Illinois
Celena Roldan Moreno, Executive Director, Erie Neighborhood House
Philip Alphonse, Partner, The Vistria Group

Appointed as a Member of the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning Board of Directors
Peter Skosey, Executive Vice President, Metropolitan Planning Council
Lisa Laws, Deputy Chief Operating Officer, City of Chicago (re-appointment)
Andrew Madigan, Senior Managing Director, Mesirow Financial (re-appointment)

Nominated as a Member of the Chicago Low Income Housing Trust Fund Board of Directors
La Toya Dixon, Attorney Advisor, Social Security Administration
Elise Doody-Jones, Community Organizer, Volunteer Manager and Small Business Owner
Bishop Horace Smith, Apostolic Faith Church and Physician, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital
Jennifer Welch, First Deputy Commissioner, Department of Family and Support Services
Levoi Brown, Managing Director, BMO Harris Bank (re-appointment)
Malcolm Bush, Affiliated Scholar / Chapin Hall, University of Chicago (re-appointment)
Sol Flores, Executive Director, La Casa Norte (re-appointment)
Rev. Wayne Gordon, Lawndale Community Church (re-appointment)
Thomas McNulty (President), Partner, Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP (re-appointment)
Kristin Nance, Director, Lewis University Stahl Center for Entrepreneurship (re-appointment)

Nominated as a Member of the Chicago Community Land Trust Board of Directors
Michelle Morales, Associate Director, Alternative Schools Network
Patricia Abrams, Executive Director, The Renaissance Collaborative, Inc. (re-appointment)
Joel Bookman, President, Bookman Associates Incorporated (re-appointment)
Timothy Hughes, Real Estate and Facilities Director, ComEd (re-appointment)
Edward Jacob, Formerly Executive Director, Neighborhood Housing Services of Chicago (re-appointment)
Guacolda Reyes, Vice President, The Resurrection Project (re-appointment)
William Towns, Assistant Vice President, Neighborhood Initiatives, University of Chicago (re-appointment)
Marva Williams, Economic Development Director, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago (re-appointment)
Jeffrey Wright, Business Banker, Urban Partnership Bank (re-appointment)
Eva Brown, Vice President, Government and Community Relations, U.S. Bank

Nominated as a Member of the Human Resources Board
Karen Coppa, Lawyer, formerly, City of Chicago Chief Assistant Corporation Council

Nominated as a Member of the Board of Ethics
Zaid Abdul-Aleem, Managing Director, Moelis & Co.
Juan Calderon, COO, The Puerto Rican Cultural Center
Pastor Mary Carr, Senior Pastor, Christian Heritage Training Center (re-appointment)

Appointed as a Member of the Illinois Medical District Commission
Alejandra Garza, President, AGG Consulting, formerly Director, Marketing and Business Development, UnitedHealthcare, Inc.
Everett Rand, Owner, Midway Airport Concessions and Founder, Chicago Football Classic

Re-appointed as a Member of the North River Expanded Mental Health Services Commission
Joan Liautaud, Senior Director of Clinical Operations, Heartland Health Outreach
Roger McGill, Staff Assistant, Vietnam Veterans of America Service Office

Designated as Chair of the Advisory Council on Veterans
Victor Lagroon, Manager of Engagement and Strategic Partners, University of Illinois, Hospital and Health Sciences System

Re-appointed as a Member of the Illinois International Port District Board
Terrence Fitzmaurice, Business Manager and Secretary Treasurer of Painters’ District Council #14

Re-appointed as a Member of Illinois Sports Facilities Authority Board of Directors
Richard Price, ‎Chairman and CEO, Mesirow Financial
James Reynolds, Chairman and CEO, Loop Capital Markets

Re-appointed as a Member of the NeighborSpace Board of Directors
Michelle Boone, Commissioner, Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events
Alderman Walter Burnett, 27th Ward

Re-appointed as a Member of the Board of Examiners of Crane Operators
John Ahlgrim, Business Representative, I.U.O.E. Local 150
John Ricker, Safety Coordinator, I.U.O.E. Local 150
Thomas Rottman, Jr., Business Agent, I.U.O.E. Local 150

Re-appointed as a Member of the Board of Examiners of Mason Contractors
Henry M. Leahy, Owner, Four Province Masonry
Luciano Padilla, Jr., Union Representative, IL District Council One of the International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers

Re-appointed as a Member of the Board of Examiners of Plumbing Contractors
James Majerowicz, Instructor of Plumbing, Plumbers' Local 130 U.A.
John Rottman, Deacon, St. Thecla School

Re-appointed as a Member of the Board of Examiners of Stationary Engineers
Bill Iacullo, President, I.U.O.E. Local 143
William Masterson, Business Agent, I.U.O.E. Local 399
Jacob Preciado, Construction Manager, Archdiocese of Chicago

Appointments to the Board of Ethics, Commission on Chicago Landmarks, Human Resources Board, Community Development Commission, Zoning Board of Appeals, Chicago Plan Commission, Chicago Low Income Housing Trust Fund Board, Chicago Community Land Trust Board, the Illinois International Port District Board, the Board of Examiners of Mason Contractors, and Police Board are subject to City Council approval.

# # #