October 12, 2018

Mayor Emanuel Announces Members and Framework of New Transportation and Mobility Task Force

The Task Force will establish guidance for planning, evaluating and managing current and future mobility options along with integrating technological innovations into the City’s transportation systems

Mayor's Press Office    312.744.3334

Mayor Rahm Emanuel today announced the members of the City’s New Transportation and Mobility Task Force, which will be convened at the end of the month. Chaired by former U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood, the Task Force will establish guidance that supports a vibrant public transit system and effectively incorporates new mobility services and technologies into the City’s existing transportation systems. The Task Force will focus on identifying both immediate actions and long-term changes that support the Mayor’s overall goal of delivering safe, reliable, affordable, equitable, accessible and environmentally-sustainable transportation options that serve all residents and visitors, provide fast and stable movement of freight, and encourage inclusive economic growth.

“In just the last few years we have seen an explosion of new transportation options and technologies that are challenging us to think differently about how we manage our transportation systems,” said Mayor Emanuel. “With Ray LaHood’s leadership and expertise, we are going to bring the best and the brightest together to help inform Chicago
on how to move forward and maintain our status as a leader in transportation.”

The Task Force is comprised of more than 20 experts and thought-leaders from business, neighborhood and community engagement, government and technology in the transportation and mobility sectors. In addition to its core group, the Task Force will also engage with multiple advisory members from academic institutions, start-ups, transportation providers, non-profits, foundations, advocacy groups and neighborhood development organizations. Members include:

• Ray LaHood (Chair); Former US DOT Secretary
• Brenna Berman; Executive Director, City Tech
• Marca Bristo; President & CEO, Access Living
• Ron Burke; Executive Director, Active Transportation Alliance
• Walter Burnett Jr.; Alderman, 27th Ward
• Pat Burns; SVP, Strategy, Dover
• Dorval Carter; President, CTA
• Brian Collie; Senior Partner, Boston Consulting Group Global Automotive Lead
• Rosa Escareno; Commissioner, Department of Business Affairs and Consumer Protection
• Sharon Feigon; Executive Director, Shared-Use Mobility Center
• Jackie Grimshaw; Vice President, CNT
• Stefan Gspurning; Urban Mobility Head, Robert Bosch
• Ronnie Harris; Visionary Lead, Go Bronzeville
• Tom Kotarac; Vice President, Civic Committee/Comercial Club
• Angel Mendez; COO, HERE
• Bob Rivkin; Deputy Mayor, City of Chicago
• Rebekah Scheinfeld; Commissioner, Chicago Department of Transportation
• Anne M. Schlenker; Director, Argonne National Lab
• Joe Schweiterman; Professor, DePaul University’s Chaddick Institute
• Sam Skinner; Former US DOT Secretary
• Joseph Szabo; Executive Director, CMAP
• Karen Tamley; Commissioner, Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities
• Mike Tomas; Executive Director, Garfield Park Community Council
• Audrey Wennick; Director, Metropolitan Planning Council

The Task Force will identify both immediate actions and ambitious proposals in support of a new vision for mobility. The Task Force will be guided by the following goals in making their final recommendations:

  • Expanding and ensuring equitable and sustainable access to high-quality, reliable, accessible public transit and mobility options through a variety of potential approaches, including a value-driven bus network plan; integrated fares and ride payment technologies for multi-modal transportation; and synchronized policies for improving access for low-income, disabled and senior resident communities.
  • Guiding integration and prioritization of new mobility providers and technologies, including autonomous, connected and electric vehicles; new ride-sharing options; new forms of bikeshare and scooters; and smart traffic infrastructure, including those that protect pedestrians, those that make deliveries easier and more seamless and those that showcase automated traffic control.
  • Improving the City’s overall livability and environment through transportation and mobility innovation, such as the roll-out of electric charging infrastructure, development of metrics to track environmental impacts, development of commuter demand management policies and the expansion of transit-oriented incentives to high-frequency bus corridors.

“Chicago has strived to maintain leadership in the transportation space, and we see this Task Force as the guiding force for the City’s next generation of mobile innovation,” Former U.S. DOT Secretary Ray LaHood said.

The Task Force’s first meeting will be held later this month. It will meet monthly over five months. It is expected that the Task Force will issue its final recommendations in early 2019.