June 2, 2020

City of Chicago Restores Access to Central Business District to Prepare for Cautious Reopening

Announcement follows several days of closures to address public safety incidents and property damage

Mayor's Press Office    312.744.3334

CHICAGO — Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot today announced restored access to the Central Business District and Loop, to prepare the city for reopening on June 3. While full access to the area will be reintroduced for all Chicagoans, select closures and service interruptions will remain in effect until further notice. The citywide curfew for all residents and visitors, effective from 9:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. will remain in effect until further notice.

The restoration of access comes after several days of enforced limitations to the area allowing entry only to employees whose businesses were located within the designated boundaries, individuals who resided in the surrounding area and residents engaged in essential activities as defined in the Municipal Code, Order 2020-3 (listed here under Section 2.5).  Starting tomorrow morning at 5:00 a.m., the following will reopen:

  • Lake Shore Drive will open with the following exits remaining closed: Michigan Avenue, Chicago Avenue, Grand Avenue, Lower Wacker Drive and Randolph Street.
  • All entrance and exit ramps on 290 and 90/94.
  • CTA train and bus service will be restored, however, some train stops located within or near the designated boundaries in the Central Business District and Loop area will remain closed. Closures impacting the morning rush will be posted tomorrow,  beginning at 5:00 a.m. and will be updated regularly throughout the day at www.transitchicago.com to ensure residents and employees have access to the latest transit information.
  • Bridges in the Central Business District will be lowered over the Chicago River on the following streets: Clark Street, Dearborn Street, Lake Street, Randolph Street, Wells Street and Washington Street.

Also, tomorrow, Divvy Bike Sharing Stations citywide will reopen beginning at 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. until further notice.