Chicago Cultural Center Learning Lab

Chicago Cultural Center, 1st Floor South

FREE Admission * Open during Meet an Artist

DCASE Homepage  >  Chicago Cultural Center  >  Learning Lab  >  Welcome Center

 

 

Learning Lab is an interactive studio that offers sights, sounds, and experiences for visitors of all ages and a wide range of abilities. Reinvigorated by design team Made in Englewood (Eric Hotchkiss and Andre Westhelle).

If you have an inspiration for presenting in our Meet an Artist series, please review the criteria and submit a proposal online.  Meet an Artist Proposal Application


Education and Engagement

  • Learning Lab / Learning Light - Explore how your movements affect light and color in this installation by Liviu Pasare visible from both inside and outside the Learning Lab.

 

 

 

 

  • Rolling Walls - Divide and define the space with two mobile walls inspired by CTA cars and feature exhibition space for small objects as well as storage for the A-frame tables.

 

  • Pop-ups - A-frame tables create a spot for artists to engage with visitors up close. Tables are easily folded and tucked away in an instant inside the rolling walls to create wide open space.

 

  • Interactive Wall - Explore making your own music by tightening strings and pegs or tapping on a slotted drum, peer into spaces for intimate viewfinder surprises, or relax with a book off the shelf.

 

  • Mobile Art Cart - Hands on exploration of color, light, tone, and space on the go. Created by Rich Faron and Museum Explorer.

 

Self-Guided Public Art Tour Guide (PDF)


Stay Connected

Visit us:

Chicago Cultural Center

Admission is FREE
Open Daily, 10am–5pm
Exhibitions close 15 minutes before the building closes
(Closed Holidays)


Plan Your Visit

Find us:

Chicago Cultural Center
78 E. Washington St.
Chicago, IL 60602

 

Take CTA to Chicago Cultural Center

  • From the elevated lines: exit at Washington/Wabash and walk east.
  • From the subway: exit at Lake (Red Line) or Washington (Blue Line) and walk east.
  • Served by Michigan Avenue buses 3, 4, 19, 20, 26, 60, 66, 124, 143, 147, 151, 157 and Washington St. buses 4, J14, 20, 56, 66, 147

Radical Printshop ProjectMeet an Artist Schedule, 12-2pm

 

William Estrada

William Estrada, Radical Printshop Project

Artist, teacher, and cultural worker. William activates his Mobile Art Cart to engage visitors in the art of printmaking.

His current research is focused on developing community and culturally relevant projects that question power structures of race, economy, and cultural access to collectively imagine just futures.

 

  • Friday, July 8
  • Saturday, July 9
  • Friday, July 22
  • Saturday, July 23
  • Friday August 12
  • Saturday, August 13
  • Friday, August 26
  • Saturday, August 27

Indira Johnson, Ten Thousand Ripples

  • Friday, September 9
  • Saturday, September 10
  • Friday, September 23
  • Saturday, September 24
  • Friday, September 30 & Saturday, October 1: Ragamala special event
  • Friday, October 14
  • Saturday, October 15

Maggie Bridger, Cultivating Chicago’s Disability Dance Community

  • Friday, October 28
  • Saturday, October 29
  • Friday, November 11
  • Saturday, November 12
  • Friday, November 25
  • Saturday, November 26

Leslie Baum, Thresholds Artists

  • Friday, December 9
  • Saturday, December 10
  • Friday, December 23
  • Saturday, December 24

Enjoy these features from beyond the glass doors:

  • Explore how your movements affect light and color in this installation by Liviu Pasare entitled, “Learning Lab / Learning Light.”
  • Enjoy selected artwork and videos of programs from artists around the world projected onto the wall as part of a curated series, "Now Playing…Sights and Sounds.”

Educational Resources

 

Comics with Elgin Smith and Stanford Carpenter at the Learning Lab

Chicago: Where Comics Came to Life (1880-1960) - Comics are meant to be read and not just seen. Check out this amazing exhibition of Comics that tell stories of everyday existence rooted in Chicago's neighborhoods. Learn about the important work of the first African American and woman cartoonists widely published in newspapers. Meet contemporary cartoonists and discover how they are continuing (or bucking) the traditions that came before them. Originally aired on Streamables, Inc. on Sept 8, 2021.